What owning shares in a company actually means?

A share is a unit of ownership delivered by a capital company. In most cases, it is a commercial company with a limited liability. Holding one of several shares – in other words, being a shareholder – means that you own a part of the company’s capital but you are not held personally liable for the company’s debts.

Generally, shares are freely negotiable and transferable. As a shareholder, you can decide at any time to sell all or some of your shares to other investors. You can sell them – or buy them – at a stock exchange if the company is listed on a regulated market or in a private exchange (in this case, the transaction takes place between the vendor and the buyer).

Why hold shares? 

Firstly, being a co-owner of the company means you have the following rights, whatever the number of shares you own:

·         the right to dividend payment: in proportion to the amount of shares you own, you have the right to receive a portion of the company’s profit every year – provided that the company has made a profit and decides to distribute all or some of the profit to their shareholders. That’s not always the case.

·         the right to vote: except in extraordinary circumstances, any person who owns at least one share of the company can attend the annual general meeting of that company and express their opinion on the management team.

·         the right to information: if the company is listed on the stock exchange, you have the right to receive certain kinds of information (about its financial situation, its politics, etc.)

Another advantage of shareholding is that shares can increase in value over time according to the rules of supply and demand. For a company quoted on the stock exchange, the share price of its capital stock will evolve according to the sales and purchases of investors. In theory, the share price on the stock exchange increases in proportion to the company’s profits. Investors anticipate higher profits and decide to buy shares. Demand outstrips supply and the share price increases. On the contrary, if the financial results are lower than expected, there are too many shareholders looking to sell and the share price decreases. In practice, it is more complicated than that because external factors such as economic circumstances, the level of interest rates, the financial results of a competitor, etc. can affect share prices.

Buying individual stock is a risky business

In a way, owning stock in a company is similar to making a bet. You are betting on the likelihood that the share price will climb and that you will realise a large gain when selling your shares. But you can also be mistaken and lose all or some of your investment capital. If your degree of risk aversion is high, you’d better choose other forms of investment.

Articles that might interest you

  • Every company wants to be green, ethical, responsible, socially conscious etc. Is this possible? And does Sustainable and Responsible Investment really make a difference?

  • A share is a unit of ownership delivered by a capital company. In most cases, it is a commercial company with a limited liability. Holding one of several shares – in other words, being a shareholder – means that you own a part of the company’s capital but you are not held personally liable for the company’s debts.

Que signifie avoir des actions dans une entreprise ?

Une action est un titre de propriété délivré par une société de capitaux – il s’agit, dans la plupart des cas, d’une société commerciale constituée en considération des capitaux apportés par les associés. Avoir une ou des actions d’une entreprise – en d’autres termes, être un de ses actionnaires – signifie que vous détenez un morceau de la société, une part de son capital social.

De manière générale, les actions sont librement négociables et transmissibles. Si vous détenez des actions, vous pouvez décider à tout moment d’en vendre tout ou en partie à d’autres investisseurs. Vous pouvez les vendre – ou les acheter – soit en bourse lorsque la société est cotée sur un marché organisé, soit de gré à gré (dans ce cas, la transaction est directement conclue entre le vendeur et l’acheteur).

Pourquoi détenir des actions ? 

Tout d’abord, parce qu’en tant que co-propriétaire de la société, vous avez les droits suivants, quel que soit le nombre d’actions que vous détenez :

·         le droit au dividende : à hauteur de votre quote-part respective dans le capital, vous avez le droit de recevoir, chaque année, une part des bénéfices réalisés par la société. A condition bien entendu qu’il y ait des bénéfices et que la société décide de distribuer tout ou une  partie de ses bénéfices. Ce qui n’est pas toujours le cas.

·         le droit de vote : sauf cas exceptionnels, tout actionnaire qui détient au moins une action peut assister aux assemblées générales de la société et donner son opinion sur la gestion menée par les dirigeants de l’entreprise.

·         le droit à l’information : si la société est cotée en bourse, elle doit vous donner certaines informations (sur sa situation financière, sa politique, etc.).

L’autre intérêt des actions – et non des moindres – est que celles-ci peuvent prendre de la valeur au cours du temps en fonction de l’offre et de la demande.  Ainsi, pour une société cotée en bourse, les actions qui composent son capital social vont évoluer en fonction des achats et des ventes des investisseurs. En théorie, une action se valorise en bourse au fur et à mesure que les bénéfices de la société augmentent. Les investisseurs anticipent alors des bénéfices plus élevés et décident d’acheter des actions. La demande devenant supérieure à l’offre, le cours augmente. Par contre, si les résultats escomptés sont décevants, c’est le contraire qui se produit : les vendeurs sont plus nombreux et le cours baisse. En pratique, c’est bien plus compliqué que cela car un certain nombre de facteurs externes peuvent influencer l’évolution du cours des actions d’une entreprise : la conjoncture économique, le niveau des taux d’intérêt, les résultats d’un concurrent, etc.

Détenir des actions comporte certains risques

En quelque sorte, vous faites un pari. Vous misez sur le fait que les actions vont prendre de la valeur et que vous allez pouvoir réaliser une plus-value importante au moment de la revente des actions. Mais vous pouvez vous tromper et perdre tout ou partie de votre investissement. Si votre degré d’aversion au risque est très élevé, mieux vaut pour vous choisir d’autres formes d’investissement.

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser