5 sites for giving your gifts a personal touch

Are you looking for a truly original, personal gift to give for Christmas or another occasion? Then you are in luck. There are more and more websites that enable you to personalise clothing, accessories, furniture, and gadgets in just a few clicks. Add a little something special to cups, pens, t-shirts, and even your children’s toys. Here are a few sites offering the most interesting customisation options. 

Tailoritaly, for a custom wardrobe

Tailoritaly is an online shopping platform for women, launched a little over a year ago. It allows you to buy customised clothing that fits your own style. The autumn-winter 2016 collection presented on the website includes 13 items of clothing and 2 accessories. The fashion line is 100% made in Italy and consists of basic items like trench coats, winter coats, skirts, trousers, t-shirts, and blouses. You can customise each garment online by selecting the features you like e.g. from different types of necklines or sleeves. You can also add contrasting pieces, bows, and different buttons. By enabling the customisation of these 13 pieces of clothing, Tailoritaly allows for the creation of a total of 800 different variations, priced between €69 and €285. Any changes you make instantly show up on your screen. Once your online order has been placed, you will receive your clothes free of charge within 10 days.

Budsies, for transforming your children’s artwork into stuffed toys

Budsies is ideal for anyone who wants to give their children (or anyone else for that matter) a special surprise for Christmas. Budsies will produce any stuffed toy that your little one can dream up. All you have to do is upload or send a picture of a drawing to the site. Within about five weeks, the drawing will be transformed into a stuffed toy! To date, Budsies has sold more than 32,000 plush toys, all made with hypoallergenic materials recommended for children 3 years and older and in strict adherence with high quality standards. In addition, the site offers ‘Selfies’, letting you turn your family into needle-and-thread creations, as well as ‘Petsies’, where you can order stuffed animals that look like your four-legged friends. Prices start at $89 (a little over €80).

Lanieri, for men looking for unique suits

 Lanieri is entirely devoted to men’s fashion, with products that are 100% made in Italy. Lanieri handles the entire process of making men’s suits, from the choice of material to the actual sewing, which is entrusted to Italian tailors. Everything can be done online: on the website, customers can choose from 100 different types of material in different colours and patterns and accessorise their garment with various buttons, belts, pocket squares, etc. In total, the site offers more than 10 million possible combinations. If you are interested, you can buy a set of 5 fabric samples online for €10, which will be reimbursed once you actually buy a suit. After you have made your choices and given your measurements (to do this, you can follow a tutorial on the Lanieri website or go to one of their shops and get help from a stylist), you can order your suit. In addition to suits, Lanieri also offers shirts, blazers, accessories, and more. Shipping is free throughout the world and takes 4 to 5 weeks.

Uncommongoods, the platform for personalising objects, and more! 

Find original cups, cutting boards, games, whisky barrels, bags, t-shirts, and much more at uncommongoods.com. This website lets you customise items and find all sorts of unusual objects. Depending on what you order, delivery will take a few days or a few weeks. If you are really pressed for time, you can buy and print a gift certificate so that you have a little something to put under the Christmas tree. 

DIY on Pinterest

Another option for personalising your gifts is, of course, to get your hands dirty making them yourself.
This last option lets you upcycle and give very personal gifts, while also keeping your costs down. Pinterest can help inspire you to try out new ideas! Let your curiosity run wild and type the keywords for what you want to create into the search bar (which is very useful!). If you are feeling uninspired, you can just type ‘DIY’ into the search bar.

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

5 sites pour personnaliser ses cadeaux

À la recherche d'une idée cadeau vraiment originale et sur mesure pour Noël ou une autre occasion ? On trouve sur le web de plus en plus de plates-formes qui, en quelques clics, proposent de personnaliser vêtements, accessoires, meubles et même gadgets tels que des tasses, stylos et tee-shirts, et même les jouets de ses enfants.  Voici quelques sites qui proposent les customisations les plus intéressantes 

Tailoritaly, pour une garde-robe sur mesure

Plate-forme de shopping en ligne réservée aux femmes, lancée il y a un peu plus d'un an, Tailoritaly permet de personnaliser ses vêtements selon ses préférences lors de l'achat. La collection Automne-Hiver 2016 présentée sur le site comprend 13 vêtements et 2 accessoires. Une ligne de vêtements 100 % made in Italy, qui propose des vêtements basiques (trench, manteau, jupe, pantalon, Tee-shirt, blouse) que l'on peut personnaliser en ligne en sélectionnant certains détails comme la forme du cou, des manches ou encore l'ajout de pièces contrastées. Il est en outre possible d'ajouter des pompons et autres boutons. La configuration des 13 pièces ainsi personnalisées donne au total 800 variantes, comprises entre 69 et 285 euros. Toute modification est immédiatement visualisée. Une fois passée la commande en ligne, on reçoit son vêtement dans les 10 jours, sans frais d'expédition.

Budsies, pour transformer les dessins de ses enfants en peluche

L'idéal pour ceux qui veulent surprendre leurs enfants (mais pas seulement) à Noël, Budsies s'engage à fabriquer n'importe quelle peluche, fruit de l'imagination des plus petits. Il suffit pour cela d'envoyer le dessin au site : en cinq semaines environ, l'ébauche prendra la forme d'une peluche ! À ce jour, Budsies a vendu quelque 32 000 peluches, toutes réalisées dans des matières anallergiques et dans le strict respect de rigoureux standards en termes de qualité et de matières cousues, conseillées pour les enfants à partir de 3 ans. À noter également sur le site la catégorie « Selfies », où vous devenez de véritables personnages faits d'étoffe et de fil, et « Petsies », section dédiée à la transformation en peluche de nos amis à quatre pattes. Les prix débutent à 89 dollars (soit un peu plus de 80 euros).

Lanieri, pour les hommes à la recherche de costumes uniques

100 % made in Italy et entièrement dédié à la mode masculine, Lanieri décline tout le processus de réalisation d'un costume pour homme, du choix des tissus à la réalisation, confiée à des couturiers italiens. Tout s'effectue en ligne : sur le site, le client peut choisir parmi 100 types de tissus de différentes couleurs et motifs, auxquels associer des accessoires et finitions (boutons, ceintures, pochettes, etc.). On obtient au total plus de 10 millions de combinaisons. Ceux qui le souhaitent, peuvent acheter en ligne un ensemble de 5 tissus pour 10 euros, somme qui sera ensuite remboursée lors de l'achat. Après avoir fait son choix et indiqué ses mesures (pour cela, on peut suivre un tutoriel sur le site Lanieri ou bien se rendre en boutique et se faire aider par un conseiller en style), on commande son costume. Outre les costumes, ce site propose également des chemises, blazers, accessoires, etc. La livraison est gratuite dans le monde entier, sous un délai de 4 à 5 semaines.

Uncommongoods , la plate-forme qui personnalise des objets, mais pas seulement ! 

 Tasses, planche à découper, puissance 4, fûts de whisky, sacs, tee-shirts et bien d'autres choses encore : uncommongoods.com.  C’est une plate-forme qui permet de personnaliser, de customiser et de trouver n'importe quel objet peu commun. En fonction de l’objet choisi, celui-ci est livré sous quelques jours ou semaines. Pour les plus pressés il est toujours choisir l’option carte imprimable. Celle-ci vous permettra de mettre quelque chose sous le sapin.

Le DIY sur Pinterest

Une autre alternative pour personnaliser vos cadeaux est bien évidemment de mettre la main à la pâte en les fabriquant vous-même.
Cette dernière alternative vous permet de faire de la récup, d’offrir un cadeau ultra personnalisé mais également de limiter vos coûts. Pinterest vous permet de trouver de l’inspiration et d’essayer de nouvelles idées ! Soyez curieux et tapez les mots clés correspondant à ce que vous souhaitez créer dans la barre de recherche ( qui est des plus efficace !). Si vous êtes en panne d’inspiration, nous vous recommandons de simplement taper dans la barre de recherche DIY – pour les plus paresseu(x- ses) cliquez ici 

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser