Would you agree if I told you that every couple has a secret? You’re certainly wondering why I ask you this personal question. Don’t worry, I do not really expect an answer. We all know that nobody’s perfect

And I won’t be able to give you tips or advice about how your relationship should or shouldn’t work – it’s neither my business nor my area of expertise! I just wanted to share with you some findings of the latest ING International Survey I find interesting about … money secrets in Luxembourg resident couples:

  1. Almost one out of three (29%) think it’s normal for couples to keep a few secrets about money from each other; similar to the European average of 31%.
  2. One out of ten revealed that in the past12 months they bought something and they hid the expense from their partner – which is less than the European average (one out of five people)
  3. Age influences the way we deal with money. As a matter of fact, the younger we are (between 18 and 24 years-old) the more we hide expenses from our partner (20%). It tends to happen less often to people aged 55 and over (9%).
  4. 17% of Luxembourg respondents declared having a secret bank account their partner doesn’t know about. 
  5. 7% don’t disclose exactly their salary to their partner… and also here we’re more honest than the European average (13%)!

What about you, do you have money secrets?

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

5 choses que vous voulez savoir à propos des Luxembourgeois et leurs secrets d’argent!

Êtes-vous d’accord si je vous dis que dans chaque couple se cache un secret ? Vous vous demandez certainement pourquoi je vous pose une question si personnelle. Rassurez-vous, je n’attends pas vraiment de réponse. Nous savons tous que personne n’est parfait !

Loin de moi l’idée de vous donner des conseils sur la manière dont vous devez gérer votre couple. Ce n’est ni mon affaire, ni ma spécialité ! Je souhaite simplement partager avec vous certaines des conclusions de la dernière enquête ING International Survey qui nous apprennent des choses intéressantes sur… les secrets que les Luxembourgeois préfèrent cacher à leur
partenaire en matière d’argent.

  1. Près d’une personne sur trois (29 %) estime qu’il est normal, dans un couple, de ne pas tout se dire lorsqu’il s’agit d’argent ; une proportion qui s’inscrit dans la moyenne européenne (31 %).
  2. Une personne sur dix admet avoir acheté quelque chose à l’insu de son ou sa partenaire au cours de ces 12 derniers mois. Un chiffre inférieur à la moyenne européenne (une personne sur cinq).
  3. L’âge influence la manière avec laquelle nous abordons les questions d’argent. Plus nous sommes jeunes (entre 18 et 24 ans) et plus nous cachons certaines de nos dépenses à notre partenaire (20 %). C’est moins le cas pour les personnes de 55 ans ou plus (9 %).
  4. 17 % des Luxembourgeois interrogés déclarent posséder un compte bancaire dont leur partenaire ne connaît même pas l’existence.
  5. 7 % ne disent pas ce qu’ils gagnent exactement à leur partenaire. Ici aussi, nous nous montrons plus honnêtes que l’Européen moyen (13 %) !

Et vous ? Avez-vous aussi des secrets ?

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser