Are pets too expensive?

You absolutely need a cat or a dog in your life but you don’t know how much a pet will cost you? According to a study released in 2012, our French neighbours – who incidentally own the most pets out of all European nations – spend a yearly average of € 600 on their cats and € 800 on their dogs. Statistical data on pet ownership in Luxembourg are difficult to obtain. According to the only available figures, we spend € 937,8 a year but this number includes not only money spent on pets but also expenses linked to flowers and gardens!

With or without pedigree?

The budget allocated to your cat or your dog will vary depending on your personal choices, as well as on the health and morphology of your four-legged friend. Firstly, the cost of buying a pet may vary, according to whether you prefer having an animal with or without a pedigree. For instance, a Chartreux cat – the main characteristics of this breed are copper-coloured eyes and a woolly coat of blue fur – costs between € 700 and € 1,000 depending on the cattery.

Secondly, you have to take into account expenses related to basic items that will amount to around a hundred euros: a carrier (from € 15 to € 80 if you have a very big dog), a litter box for the cat (from € 10 to € 20), a bowl (from € 2 to € 10), a collar and a leash (from € 30 to € 60), a brush (between € 8 and € 40 for a dog and between € 25 and € 30 for a cat) and a muzzle (from € 5 to € 40). The bill may turn out to be higher if you decide to spoil your pet: ranging from special treats and bedding to any imaginable kind of toy, the choice is near endless.

Healthcare costs and taxes

Thirdly, you have to take your pet to the veterinarian at least once a year (cost: between € 35 and € 50 per consultation); twice is better than once because clinical care for pets is very expensive, so prevention is key. Vaccinations are required during the first two years of your pet’s life and boosters every two to three years, or once a year, according to the circumstances and the way of life of the animal. These may include combination vaccines against feline rhinitis, panleukopenia, feline leukaemia and rabies for cats (ranging from € 60 to € 80 multiplied by 2 the first year because there are two injections) and combination vaccines against canine distemper, hepatitis, parvovirus, leptospirosis and rabies for dogs (from € 50 to € 70 multiplied by 2 the first year because there are two injections). Castration (around € 80 for a cat and between € 120 and € 130 for a dog) is not mandatory but is recommended for cats because of the urine spraying of adult felines. Sterilisation costs between € 200 and € 450 for a female dog depending on its size and around € 150 for a female cat. To cover all or some of the veterinarian costs, you can subscribe to an animal insurance. Some insurance companies in Luxembourg are proposing that kind of coverage.

If you own a dog, you have to meet legal obligations that result in additional costs: your dog has to be tagged with an electronic chip by an approved veterinarian and registered at the local municipal office (identification of the breed, vaccination against rabies, etc.). As a dog owner, you also have to pay an annual tax (minimum € 10 a year, the amount may vary depending of the municipality). And if your dog belongs to a breed considered as potentially dangerous, the requirements are more restrictive and include dog training classes and a veterinary certificate with the date of castration; what’s more, the owner has to present a certificate of completion of practical and theoretical training, be an adult and submit a certificate declaring that he/she has never been convicted of a crime.

Regular and exceptional expenses

Last but not least, you have to anticipate regular expenses totalling anything from € 40 to more than € 100 a month. Recurring purchases include pet food (amount spent may vary depending on the size, the physical activity and the breed of your pet), cat litter, dog shampoo and other hygiene products, deworming and anti-flea treatments, and so on.

Think this is everything? Think again. If you want to travel with your four-legged companion, you have to buy a European pet passport. If not, you have to ask your friends to take care of your pet or take your dog or your cat to a kennel, a flourishing business in Luxembourg. With a daily rate of around € 10 for a cat and around € 20 for a dog, your three-week vacation without Rex or Mr Whiskers will cost you between € 200 and € 600!

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Les animaux de compagnie coûtent-ils cher ?

Vous ne pouvez pas vous passer d’un chien ou d’un chat pour égayer votre quotidien et vous ne savez pas exactement combien il vous coûte ? D’après une étude réalisée en 2012, nos voisins français, considérés comme les champions d’Europe en matière d’animaux de compagnie, dépensent en moyenne 600 € par an pour leur chat et 800 € pour leur chien. Au Luxembourg, les statistiques sont plus difficiles à obtenir. Le seules disponibles citent le chiffre de 937,8 € pour l’année 2013 mais ce montant regroupe non seulement les animaux d’agrément mais aussi les fleurs et les jardins !

Avec ou sans pedigree ?

Le budget de votre chat ou de votre chien va dépendre de vos choix personnels, de la santé et de la morphologie de votre compagnon à quatre pattes. A commencer par l’achat : le prix va considérablement varier selon que vous preniez un animal avec ou sans pedigree. A titre d’exemple, un chat de la race des Chartreux – dont la principale caractéristique est d’avoir des yeux de couleur or à cuivre et un pelage court et fourni entièrement bleu – vous coûtera la bagatelle de 700 à 1.000 euros en fonction de la chatterie. 

A cela, il faut ajouter les frais liés aux objets de base qui vous coûteront au bas mot une bonne centaine d’euros : le sac de transport (de 15 à 80 € si vous avez un très grand chien), le bac à litière pour le chat (de 10 à 20 €), la gamelle (de 2 à 10 €), la laisse et le collier (de 30 à 60 €), la brosse (entre 8 et 40 € pour un chien et 25-30 € pour un chat) et la muselière (de 5 à 40 €). La facture peut encore grimper si vous avez décidé de gâter votre animal de compagnie : de l’os à ronger aux arbres à chats et autres griffoirs en passant par les couvertures, les paniers, les petites balles et autres.

Les frais de santé et autres taxes

Chaque année, il faut penser à consulter le vétérinaire au moins une fois par an (entre 35 et 50 €) et il vaut mieux le faire plutôt deux fois qu’une car les soins cliniques pour les animaux de compagnie peuvent coûter extrêmement cher. Des vaccinations seront également nécessaires lors des deux premières années de vie du chien ou du chat et les rappels tous les 2-3 ans, voire tous les ans, en fonction des circonstances et du mode de vie de l’animal : les vaccins TCLR (typhus, coryza, leucose, rage) pour le chat (de 60 à 80 €) et les vaccins CHPLR (maladie de Carré, hépatite contagieuse, parvovirose, leptospirose et rage pour le chien). Sans oublier la castration (environ 80 € pour un chat et entre 120 et 130 €) pour le chien – elle n’est pas obligatoire mais franchement souhaitée pour le chat en raison du marquage urinaire du chat mâle – ou la stérilisation (de 200 à 450 € pour une chienne selon sa taille et environ 150 € pour une chatte). Pour couvrir tout ou partie de ces frais de vétérinaire, vous pouvez souscrire à une assurance animaux. Certaines compagnies d’assurance au Luxembourg proposent ce type couverture.  

Si vous possédez un chien, vous êtes également tenu de remplir certaines obligations légales qui vont entraîner des coûts : identification électronique du chien par un vétérinaire agréé, déclaration du chien à la commune de résidence avec identification de la race et vaccination antirabique, paiement d’une taxe annuelle (minimum 10 € par an, le montant varie selon les communes). Et si votre chien appartient à une race considérée comme susceptible d’être dangereuse, les conditions seront plus draconiennes : réussite du chien à des cours de dressage, certificat vétérinaire indiquant la date de castration, diplôme attestant votre réussite à des cours de formation, être une personne majeure et avoir un casier judiciaire vierge. 

Les dépenses régulières et exceptionnelles

Il faut également prévoir un budget pour les dépenses régulières – de 40 € à un peu plus de 100 € par mois : la nourriture qui va varier en fonction de la taille, de l’activité physique et de la race de votre animal de compagnie, la litière pour le chat, le shampoing, les vermifuges et autres produits antipuces.

Nous n’avons rien oublié ? Ah si, les voyages. Si vous voulez voyager avec votre animal, il faudra lui procurer un passeport européen. Si vous préférez le laisser à la maison, vous devrez compter sur vos amis ou le confier à une pension pour animaux, un business en pleine expansion à l’heure actuelle au Luxembourg. A raison d’une dizaine d’euros par jour pour un chat et du double pour un chien, vos trois semaines de vacances sans Minou ou Médor vont vous coûter entre 200 et 600 € !

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser