What is 3D secure payment?

3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards. It is known as Verified by Visa for payments made by Visa cards or MasterCard SecureCode for transactions carried out using MasterCard credits cards. 3D Secure was created in order to avoid fraudulent payments made by credit card (stolen card numbers, for example) and to ensure that the rightful cardholder makes each online payment.

How does 3D Secure work?

Making an online transaction with a credit card requires the card number, the expiry date and the visual cryptogram. The visual cryptogram is the 3 numbers on back of your card requested to perform online payments. But this information can be easily and copied, allowing NOC (No Card Present) fraud schemes. With 3D Secure, additional information will be requested to confirm that you are the owner of the card. Someone who would copy your card information or even would steal your card could not make purchases from retailers supporting 3D Secure because he doesn’t know the additional information.

The 3D Secure service is completely free of charge. Two conditions must be fulfilled to use the service: the online retailer must support 3D Secure – the logo Verified by Visa and MasterCard SecureCode is displayed on the retailer’s web site – and your credit card must first be activated.

The activation process starts automatically the first time you pay with your credit card on a 3D Secure participating retailer’s web site. First you will be asked to input a part of your account number (in IBAN format), from which your credit card payments are debited, and your date of birth. Then you will be asked to set your 3D Secure personal message, which will be displayed during each future online payment process to reassure you that the web site is indeed an official 3D Secure payment site, and a 3D Secure password.    

What happens if you don't activate your card for 3D secure? 

If you don’t activate your credit card for 3D Secure, you will not be able to pay online with your credit card for purchases from retailers that support 3D Secure. You will only be able to make purchases from online retailers that don’t support 3D Secure.

So, will you use 3D Secure or not? It is clear that the double authentication system slows your online payment process but don’t forget that the little time wasted can save you a lot of future trouble. Don’t hesitate to contact your bank for more information! 

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even “hurt” a bit more than swiping a bank card.

A quoi sert le service 3D Secure ?

Le service 3D Secure est une norme internationalement reconnue d’identification pour les paiements en ligne. Au Luxembourg, ce service concerne uniquement la carte de crédit. Appelé Verified by Visa pour les transactions réalisées par carte de crédit Visa ou MasterCard SecureCode pour les transactions réalisées par carte de crédit MasterCard, le service 3D Secure a été inventé pour éviter les paiements frauduleux par carte bancaire sans présence réelle de la carte (numéros de carte volés, par exemple) et pour s’assurer, lors de chaque paiement en ligne, que la carte est bien utilisée par son véritable titulaire.

Concrètement, comment fonctionne ce service ?

Généralement, un paiement par carte sur Internet nécessite le numéro de la carte, la date d’expiration et le cryptogramme visuel. Le cryptogramme visuel, ce sont les 3 nombres au dos de votre carte qu’on vous demande généralement de saisir lors d’un achat sur Internet. Or ces informations peuvent être lues visuellement sur la carte et recopiées, permettant ainsi le paiement sans présence de la carte, et donc la fraude. Avec 3D Secure, des informations complémentaires vous seront demandées pour valider le paiement. Quelqu’un qui recopierait les informations de votre carte ou même qui vous la volerait ne pourrait pas effectuer des achats chez les marchands utilisant 3D Secure, car il ne connaît pas ces informations supplémentaires.  

Pour pouvoir utiliser ce service gratuit, deux conditions doivent être remplies : le site commerçant doit être 3D Secure – celui-ci est assez facile à reconnaître car il affiche les logos Verified by Visa et MasterCard SecureCode – et votre carte de crédit doit être préalablement activée.

La procédure d’activation commence automatiquement lorsque vous payez pour la première fois avec votre carte de crédit sur un site Internet participant au service 3D Secure. A ce moment, vous devrez saisir une partie du numéro IBAN de votre compte bancaire duquel sont débitées les dépenses mensuelles effectuées avec votre carte de crédit ainsi que votre date de naissance. Ensuite, vous devrez créer un message personnel 3D Secure, qui apparaîtra automatiquement à l’écran lors de futurs paiements en ligne pour vous assurer que vous naviguez bien sur un site officiel 3D Secure, et définir un mot de passe qui vous sera systématiquement demandé.    

Secure ou pas Secure ?

Si vous n’activez pas votre carte de crédit au service 3D Secure, vous ne pourrez pas payer en ligne avec votre carte de crédit auprès des commerçants 3D Secure. Par contre, vous pourrez toujours payer sur les sites commerçants qui ne le sont pas.  

Alors, Secure ou pas Secure ? Il est clair que ce système de double authentification ralentit un petit peu votre paiement en ligne mais ces quelques secondes de perdues peuvent vous épargner bien des soucis par la suite. N’hésitez pas à contacter votre banque pour de plus amples renseignements ! 

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser