As a self-employed person, do I need an accountant?

Your sole proprietorship doesn’t know the meaning of crisis? Wonderful! In this case, does your small business need an accountant? Legally no but in practice, the answer is subtler than you think.

A risky business

First of all, let’s define what is a sole proprietorship. In Luxembourg, a sole proprietorship indicates a person carries out his activity in his own name, whether he is a trader, a skilled craftsman, an industrialist, a farmer or a self-employed intellectual worker (liberal professions like doctor, architect, auditor, engineer or… accountant!).

Sole proprietorship guarantees you a total independence. You take decisions alone and have sole responsibility for the financing of your business. Another advantage is the lack of formalities. No minimum capital is required; you alone decide to commit capital to your business. No constitutional document is required; you are acting in your own name.

There are nevertheless important risks. You alone assume full responsibility towards third parties (debts of your business). Liability is not limited to your contribution and all your personal assets are exposed to creditors. That’s why you need to keep right and transparent accounts.

Internal accounting

As a self-employed person, you can keep your own accounts if you are rigorous and use accounting software.

Pros: It is the least costly option. Moreover, it allows you to focus on the administrative aspect of your activities.

Cons: Keeping internal accounting can be time consuming and therefore detrimental to your commercial activities. It could eventually have a negative impact on your client management and lead to a loss of business. This option is also risky: you have to know and respect accounting, tax, law and social rules and update your knowledge regularly.

Outsourced accounting

You can decide to outsource your bookkeeping to an accountant.

Pros: Accounting is a regulated profession, belonging to a professional order and governed by a code of ethics. Accountants have an obligation to give advice and need to take out special insurances in order to protect their activities and their clients.

Cons: Even if you can reduce the fees of your accountant by giving him just a part of your bookkeeping, this option is still the most expensive.

So do you really need an accountant or not? The answer will depend of your budget and of the risk you are ready to take…

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

En tant qu’entrepreneur individuel, ai-je besoin d’un comptable ?

Votre petite entreprise individuelle ne connaît pas la crise ? Formidable ! Peut-elle pour autant se passer des services d’un comptable ? Légalement, oui mais dans les faits, la réponse est plus nuancée.

Une forme d’exploitation risquée

Avant toute chose, rappelons ce qu’est une entreprise individuelle. Au Luxembourg, il s’agit d’une personne qui exerce sa profession en son nom propre, en qualité de commerçant, d’artisan, d’industriel, d’agriculteur ou de travailleur intellectuel indépendant (essentiellement les professions libérales comme médecin, architecte, réviseur, ingénieur ou…expert-comptable !).

L’entreprise individuelle vous garantit une indépendance totale. Vous  prenez seul les décisions et êtes seul responsable pour le financement de votre entreprise. Autre avantage : l’absence de formalisme. Aucun capital minimum n’est requis, vous décidez seul de la mise à engager pour votre activité. Aucun acte de constitution n’est dressé, vous agissez en votre nom propre.

Mais cette forme d’exploitation n’est pas sans risque. Vous assumez seul la responsabilité intégrale vis-à-vis des tiers (dettes de l’entreprise). Celle-ci n’est pas limitée à concurrence du montant de votre apport et vos biens personnels peuvent être engagés. D’où la nécessité de tenir une comptabilité régulière, sincère et fidèle.

La comptabilité tenue en interne

En tant qu’entrepreneur individuel, vous pouvez tenir votre comptabilité vous-même, à condition d’être très rigoureux et de vous faire aider par un logiciel de comptabilité.

Avantages : C’est de loin la solution la moins coûteuse. Elle permet également de vous sensibiliser à l’aspect administratif de son activité.

Inconvénients : La tenue d’une comptabilité en interne peut être une activité très consommatrice en temps, au détriment de votre activité commerciale. A terme, cela pourrait nuire à la gestion de vos clients et même aboutir à une diminution de votre chiffre d’affaires. Cette solution est aussi très risquée : vous devez non seulement connaître et respecter un certain nombre de règles comptables, fiscales, juridiques et sociales mais aussi mettre régulièrement à jour vos connaissances.

La comptabilité confiée à un comptable

Vous pouvez choisir d’externaliser la tenue de votre comptabilité et la confier à un comptable.

Avantages : La comptabilité est une profession réglementée, relevant d’un ordre professionnel et régie par un code de déontologie, autant de gages de qualité. De plus, les comptables ont une obligation de conseil et doivent souscrire des assurances particulières au titre des travaux qu’ils effectuent pour le compte de leurs clients.

Inconvénient : Même si vous pouvez moduler les honoraires de votre comptable en ne lui confiant qu’une partie de votre comptabilité, cette solution reste évidemment la plus coûteuse.

Alors, comptable ou pas ? La réponse dépendra de votre budget et surtout du risque que vous êtes prêt à prendre…

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser