Banknotes are also fashion victims

Well, that’s not entirely true. The new ten euro banknote circulates since September 23 2014. It is the second banknote to change its looks since the introduction of the euro banknotes in 2002. And it seems that the five euro and ten euro notes were only the first ones to change – the European Central Bank (ECB) has a program of several years to upgrade all banknotes in ascending order.

It’s not only about looks or fashion

The design of the new banknotes includes recent developments in banknote technology to make them more resistant to counterfeiting, thus reducing the risk of fraud for all of us. And like the new five euro banknotes they are better for the environment: they have a protecting coating that makes them more durable, thus having to be replaced less often. This is especially important with banknotes of smaller value, like the five and ten euro banknotes, as they are widely and intensively used; and more durable banknotes means their reproduction will cost less overall.

The new banknotes offer an opportunity to review the design of the old ones, so it is a little bit about fashion: the ECB wants to show a modern and innovative symbol that reflects the commitment and determination to support the European Union. So like the new five euro banknote, the ten euro includes a portrait of Europa, the Greek mythological figure that gave the name to our country, in the hologram and the watermark.

You can still check manually and visually the new ten euro banknote. Other than the hologram and watermark, the emerald number changes colour from emerald green to deep blue when tilted.

Can I still use my old banknotes?

Sure. The change doesn’t happen overnight. As from September both new and old banknote co-exist until such time as the ECB announces the end of the old banknote. It’s been a year since the new five euro banknote was introduced and we can still buy goods and services with it. And even after the banknote is no longer valid in shops, you can exchange them for new banknotes at any of the European central banks, including the Banque Centrale de Luxembourg.

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Les billets de banque sont eux aussi des « fashion victims »

Bon, pas exactement. Le nouveau billet de dix euros a été mis en circulation le 23 septembre 2014. C’est le deuxième billet de banque à être relooké depuis l’introduction de l’euro en 2002. Et il semble que les billets de cinq et dix euros ne seront pas les seuls à avoir droit à ce traitement. En effet, la Banque Centrale Européenne a l’intention de moderniser progressivement l’ensemble des billets en euros, dans l’ordre croissant.

L’habit ne fait pas le moine

Les nouveaux billets de banque intègrent les avancées technologiques réalisées dans le domaine de la conception des billets, ce qui leur assure une meilleure protection contre la contrefaçon et réduit le risque global de fraude. Tout comme les nouveaux billets de cinq euros, les billets de dix sont plus écologiques. L’application d’un enduit de protection leur confère en effet une durée de vie plus longue. Dès lors, ils devront être remplacés moins fréquemment. Cette caractéristique est particulièrement cruciale dans le cas des plus petites coupures, comme celles de cinq et dix euros, étant donné qu’elles sont les plus usitées ; et qui dit billets de banque plus durables, dit également baisse du coût de production global.

La création de nouveaux billets de banque est l’occasion de revoir l’apparence des anciens ; c’est là que la mode peut avoir son mot à dire. La BCE souhaite créer un symbole moderne et novateur reflétant l’engagement et la détermination de l’Union européenne. Tout comme les nouveaux billets de cinq euros, les coupures de dix euros incluent donc l’effigie d’Europe, personnage de la mythologie grecque qui a donné son nom à notre continent, dans l’hologramme et le filigrane.

La nouvelle coupure de dix euros est très facile à vérifier, manuellement et visuellement. Outre le portrait d’Europe figurant dans l’hologramme et le filigrane, les billets présentent un nombre émeraude qui change de couleur selon leur inclinaison, passant du vert émeraude au bleu profond.

Est-ce que je peux continuer à utiliser mes anciens billets de banque ?

Bien sûr. Depuis le mois de septembre, les nouvelles et anciennes coupures cohabitent et ce, jusqu’à ce que la BCE annonce le rappel des anciens billets de banque. Le nouveau billet de cinq euros a été introduit il y a un an déjà et nous pouvons toujours utiliser l’ancien pour acquérir des biens et services. Même lorsque les billets de banque ne pourront plus être utilisés pour l’achat de biens ou services, vous pourrez toujours les échanger contre des nouveaux auprès de n’importe quelle banque centrale européenne, dont la Banque Centrale de Luxembourg.

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser