Be good at money this Christmas – starting now!

We’re rapidly approaching the holiday season: it’s time to start planning your shopping (grocery and otherwise) to avoid excesses in last minute spending.

As you know, the price of many products goes up as we gear up for “the most wonderful time of the year”, so get ahead of the curve and be good at money this Christmas. Here’s how:

  1. Do your groceries out-of-season and take advantage of your freezer: the price of typical Christmas dinner fresh products spike after mid-December. Think of what you’re going to serve and decide what you can buy now and freeze. This is true for many meats and seafood
  2. Plan an alternative menu. You can do two things: change the most expensive things in your dishes (for example, using beef instead of lamb) or change outright the dishes – who said you absolutely must have stuffed turkey? Here’s a list with a bunch of other ideas !
  3. Take advantage of sales during Black Friday and Cyber Monday. And they’re quickly approaching, so tell your loved ones to draw up their letter to Santa ASAP!
  4. Watch out of pre-Christmas sales on toys: many dealers have special offers as from November, also online
  5. Plan your holidays in advance, especially if you need to book transport and accommodation. This is a no-brainer, valid for Christmas as well as all other holidays: book in advance, and try to avoid travelling on peak days (regular Tuesdays and Wednesdays tend to be cheapest)

So you see, the key is to plan as much as possible. Establish a budget and make sure you stick to it – that’s the best way to stay merry all through Christmas!

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Comment préparer Noël dès maintenant ?

La saison des fêtes approche à grands pas et il est temps de commencer à planifier votre shopping pour éviter trop de dépenses de dernière minute.
Comme vous le savez, le prix de nombreux produits augmente pendant la période qui précède le « plus beau moment de l’année », donc prenez de l’avance et soyez un bon gestionnaire pour ces fêtes. Quelques conseils pour y arriver :

  1. Faites vos courses alimentaires hors saison et mettez votre congélateur à contribution : le prix moyen d’un réveillon de Noël cuisiné avec des produits frais atteint des sommets après la mi-décembre. Planifiez votre menu et décidez ce qui peut être acheté maintenant et congelé. C’est le cas de la plupart des viandes et des fruits de mer
  2. Prévoyez un menu de rechange. Deux possibilités s’offrent à vous : changer les ingrédients les plus coûteux de vos plats (par exemple changer l’agneau pour du bœuf) ou faire un menu complètement différent, après tout la dinde farcie est-elle vraiment obligatoire ? Vous trouverez d’autres idées ici (article en anglais)!
  3. Profitez des soldes à l’américaine tels que les  « Black Friday », « Cyber Monday » et autres. Ils sont imminents, donc demandez à vos proches d’écrire leur lettre au père Noël dès que possible !
  4. Guettez les soldes de jouets avant Noël. De nombreux commerçants proposent en effet des promotions à partir de novembre, y compris en ligne.
  5. Organisez vos vacances à l’avance, surtout si vous devez réserver le transport et l’hébergement. Il est évident, et ceci est valable pour Noël comme pour d’autres périodes de vacances, qu’il vaut mieux réserver à l’avance et essayer d’éviter de voyager les jours d’affluence (les mardis et mercredis des périodes normales sont souvent les moins chers)

    Comme vous pouvez le constater, la clé est la planification. Faites un budget et tenez-vous-y, c’est le meilleur moyen de préserver votre bonne humeur pendant les fêtes !

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser