How to become your own boss in Luxembourg?

You want to create your own company and become your own boss? You have deeply analysed the market and the competition and discovered key needs to whom you can bring an added value? You have drawn up your business plan and build your market strategy? You have found the necessary funding to set up your own business? Perfect. Now it is time to launch yourself in the adventure. But how to proceed? Is it so complicated to become self employed in Luxembourg?

Carrying out administrative formalities

First of all, you have to obtain a business permit (commonly known as autorisation de commerce). For this, you have to satisfy the following conditions: professional qualification in line with the activity and resources to effectively manage the business. In some cases, you have to prove that your business will have a positive impact on the Luxembourgish economy, for example by creating new jobs. Then you have to choose the legal form of your business. If you are alone, you can choose between a sole proprietorship (self employed person), a ‘single member” limited liability company (SARL unipersonnelle) and a ‘single member’ public limited company (SA unipersonnelle). Each legal form has its own advantages and disadvantages. It is up to you to decide what is the best for you.

To help you making your decision, you can seek assistance from the Espace entreprises of the Chamber of Commerce or the Contact entreprise of the Chamber of Trades. The range of services provided free of charge includes business support, access to a profession and commercial, social and legal assistance and advice. It could be very helpful because you have to fulfil some administrative formalities such as the initial declarations with the tax authorities and the registration with the Luxembourg Trade and Companies Register.

Several social advantages

As a self-employed person, you are required to affiliate with the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale – CCSS) which handles the collection of contributions for the different insurance funds (sickness, invalidity, retirement, etc.). Contrary to what one might think, the main advantages of being self employed in Luxembourg are not fiscal, but social. As a self-employed person, your social protection is almost the same as if you were a salaried employee:

  • like a salaried employee, you have the right to maternity and parental allowances;
  • from the age of 65, you can benefit from a full retirement pension provided that you can prove that you have been insured at least during 120 months;
  • you can receive an early retirement pension provided that you fulfil all the conditions required. The amount is based on the contributions made during the active period and adapted to the cost of life;
  • you can receive an invalidity pension if, for health reasons, you have to stop your professional activities before the legal age of retirement;
  • if you voluntarily join the employers’ mutual insurance scheme (Mutualité des employeurs), you can receive allowances in case of loss of income due to sickness;
  • if you have to stop your activity due to financial and economical difficulties, medical reasons, an act of a third party or in case of force majeure, you have the right, under certain conditions, to unemployment benefits.

 

If you consider all what is mentioned above, you can think that it is too much for you to handle. Think again because it is in reality very quick and simple. Except particular situations, you can fulfil all the administrative procedures between only two and four weeks. Now it is time for you to build your own successful business!

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Comment devenir indépendant au Luxembourg ?

Vous avez envie de créer votre propre entreprise et devenir votre propre patron ? Vous avez analysé en profondeur le marché et la concurrence et découvert des besoins clés pour lesquels vous pouvez apporter une plus-value ? Vous avez soigneusement élaboré votre business model et votre stratégie marché ? Vous avez trouvé les fonds nécessaires pour démarrer votre entreprise ? Parfait. Il ne vous reste plus maintenant qu’à vous lancer. Mais comment faut-il procéder ? Est-ce compliqué de devenir indépendant au Luxembourg ?

Le passage obligé des formalités administratives

Avant toute chose, dans la plupart des cas, vous devez obtenir l’autorisation d’exercer une activité indépendante (autorisation d’établissement). Il faut, pour cela, avoir les qualifications (diplôme, certificat ou années d’expérience) et les ressources nécessaires pour exercer l’activité souhaitée. Parfois, il va vous falloir prouver que votre nouvelle entreprise va rapporter du bénéfice à l’économie luxembourgeoise comme, par exemple, la création de nouveaux emplois. Il vous faudra ensuite choisir la forme juridique de votre société. Ainsi, si vous êtes seul, vous devrez choisir entre une entreprise individuelle, une SARL unipersonnelle et une SA unipersonnelle. Chacune de ces formes juridiques a ses avantages et inconvénients. A vous de choisir laquelle vous convient le mieux.

Pour vous aider à faire votre choix, vous pouvez faire appel gratuitement aux conseillers de l’Espace Entreprise de la Chambre de Commerce ou à ceux de la Chambre des Métiers si vous êtes un artisan. Ces conseillers peuvent également vous accompagner dans la constitution de votre dossier, la procédure de demande d’autorisation d’établissement ainsi que diverses démarches administratives. Vous devrez en effet remplir un certain nombre de formalités comme la déclaration initiale à la TVA, la déclaration initiale auprès de l’Administration des Contributions directes et l’inscription au Registre de Commerce et des Sociétés au Luxembourg.

De nombreux avantages sociaux

En tant qu’indépendant, vous devrez également vous affilier auprès du Centre Commun de la Sécurité Sociale (CCSS) qui perçoit les cotisations pour les différentes caisses (maladie, invalidité, vieillesse, etc.). Une démarche bien utile car, contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait croire, les principaux avantages d’exercer une activité indépendante au Luxembourg ne sont pas fiscaux, mais bien sociaux. En tant qu’indépendant, votre couverture sociale sera en effet très proche de celle du salarié :

  • Au même titre qu’un salarié, vous avez droit à l’indemnité pécuniaire de maternité et au congé parental.
  • Vous bénéficiez à partir de 65 ans d’une pension de vieillesse à condition toutefois de justifier de 120 mois d’assurance au moins.
  • Vous pouvez recevoir une pension de vieillesse anticipée sous réserve que les conditions sont remplies. Le montant est calculé en fonction des cotisations versées et est adaptée au coût de la vie.
  • Vous pouvez recevoir une pension d’invalidité si, pour des raisons de santé, vous êtes obligé de cesser votre occupation professionnelle avant l’âge normal de la retraite.
  • Lorsque vous souscrivez volontairement à la Mutualité des employeurs, vous recevez une indemnité pécuniaire en cas de perte de revenu et d’incapacité de travail suite à une maladie.
  • Si vous devez cesser votre activité en raison de difficultés économiques et financières, pour des raisons médicales, par le fait d’un tiers ou en cas de force majeure, vous avez droit, sous certaines conditions, aux allocations de chômage.

Au vu de ce qui vient d’être énuméré, le travail peut vous sembler fastidieux. Détrompez-vous, c’est relativement simple et très rapide. Sauf situation particulière, il vous faudra seulement entre deux et quatre semaines pour remplir toutes les démarches évoquées ci-dessus. Il ne vous reste plus à présent qu’à faire fructifier votre petite entreprise !

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser