Might a New Year resolution give finances a fresh start?

New Year traditionally symbolizes a new beginning, a chance to turn over a new leaf and wipe the slate clean.  It can be an opportunity to draw a line under previous years when it comes to finances too. Deciding to make a fresh start on a special date or occasion can help us make changes by boosting motivation, for example.

In 2016, money matters 

Findings from the ING International Survey on Christmas and New Year 2016 suggest New Year remains a popular time-based landmark for making changes to personal finances.
Fully 71% of people in Europe who planned New Year resolutions for 2016 said they’ll make a resolution to improve their money situation.
Saving more and debt reduction were two of the most favored ways to improve.

Making changes worldwide

In Luxembourg, 81% of people planning New Year resolutions say they’ll set a money goal. In the Netherlands, 82% indicate they’ll make a resolution around finance. In Australia (71%) and the US (78%), finance resolutions are also popular.

Eyes on the prize

However, just 52% of people in Europe say they kept money-related resolutions set in the previous year. A tip could be to choose a financial goal that is easy to achieve – paired with a reward for achieving it.

Time to make savings? 

Saving more was the most popular goal for people in Luxembourg (43%) when given a range of four  2016 New Year  resolutions. Why not consider moving a certain sum into savings accounts each pay day? You could even create a direct debit for this, this way you won’t forget.

Rein in the spending 

Second most popular goal for Luxembourg was to better master their spending (32% and  27% in Europe). Stop and think before taking  money decisions . Is this something you really need to buy or you just like? If you think it is something you need, can’t you wait a little time and safe for this first? Is there an option of borrowing instead of buying? 

How to change your life 

In the ING research,  only 5% of the nearly 15,000 surveyed across 15 countries prioritized other key New Year goals that can affect finances – such as opening a business, getting a job, or buying a home. Maybe there should be more of us taking the long term perspective. Remember the saying, a penny saved is a penny earned. We are many to face financial finances, but if you know where you are going you are a step closer for getting there.

New Year, new beginning? 

Last year nearly half of people (44%) in Europe planned to begin the year by setting themselves a specific financial goal. All of us should be doing so, a ”fresh start” can help willpower. Go for it, you can make your dreams come true!

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even hurt a bit more than swiping a bank card.

Les résolutions pour la nouvelle année permettront-elles de repartir sur de bonnes bases financières ?

Traditionnellement, le Nouvel An symbolise un nouveau commencement, une occasion de tourner la page et de repartir de zéro.  Sur le plan financier aussi, cela peut être le bon moment pour tirer un trait sur les années passées. Choisir une date ou une occasion particulière pour faire table rase du passé peut nous encourager à apporter des changements, notamment, en dopant notre motivation.

En 2016, l’argent compte

Les résultats de l’étude internationale ING sur Noël et le Nouvel An 2016 indiquent que le Nouvel An reste un repère temporel privilégié pour revoir ses finances personnelles.
71 % des Européens ayant pris des résolutions pour la nouvelle année 2016 ont fait part de leur souhait d’améliorer leur situation financière.
Épargner plus et réduire son endettement sont les deux principales décisions prises en ce sens.

Le changement à l’échelle mondiale

Au Luxembourg, 81 % des habitants ayant pris de nouvelles résolutions affirment avoir l’intention de se fixer un objectif financier. Aux Pays-Bas, 82 % des personnes interrogées indiquent qu’elles prendront une nouvelle résolution en matière de finance. En Australie (71 %) et aux États-Unis (78 %), les résolutions dans ce domaine sont aussi très répandues.

Garder l’objectif en vue, ainsi que la récompense

Néanmoins, seuls 52 % des Européens déclarent avoir tenu leurs résolutions prises l’an passé en matière d’argent. Pour y parvenir, il peut s’avérer utile de se fixer un objectif financier facile à atteindre, avec une récompense à la clé.

Le bon moment pour épargner ? 

Épargner plus figurait parmi les quatre principaux objectifs des Luxembourgeois (à 43 %) pour le Nouvel An 2016. Pourquoi ne pas envisager de transférer une certaine somme sur ses comptes d’épargne chaque jour de paie ? À ce titre, vous pouvez également mettre en place un prélèvement direct pour vous assurer de ne pas oublier.

Limiter les dépenses 

Dans un deuxième temps, les Luxembourgeois se disent résolus à mieux maîtriser leurs dépenses (32 % contre 27 % des Européens). Mieux vaut s’accorder le temps de la réflexion avant de prendre des décisions financières. Tel achat satisfait-il un réel besoin ou une simple envie ? Si vous pensez en avoir besoin, pouvez-vous patienter quelque temps et épargner avant ? Pouvez-vous envisager un emprunt plutôt qu’un achat ? 

Comment changer sa vie ? 

D’après l’étude d’ING, seuls 5 % des 15 000 personnes interrogées dans 15 pays ont d’autres priorités financières, comme ouvrir une entreprise, trouver un emploi ou acheter une maison. Peut-être devrions-nous être plus nombreux à adopter une vision à long terme. Comme dit le proverbe : « un sou épargné est un sou gagné ». Peu d’entre nous échappent aux difficultés financières, mais un objectif clairement défini est plus facile à atteindre.

Nouvelle année, nouveau départ ? 

L’an dernier, près de la moitié des Européens (44 %) a prévu de commencer l’année en se fixant un objectif financier précis. Nous devrions tous suivre cet exemple, car les remises à zéro stimulent la volonté. Foncez, vous pouvez réaliser vos rêves !

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser