Parental leave: your rights are changing

The birth of a child is one of the most important moments in your life, and maximising the work-life balance is essential when you're starting a family. Parenting is about to get much easier in Luxembourg, where the government has just expanded the range of options for parental leave. Beginning on 1 December, maternity and paternity leave will be more flexible and better paid under the new parental leave regime. Want to know more but it sounds like astrophysics? Don't worry, here's a simple break down of the primary changes:

It's more flexible

Full-time leave: four to six months per child.

  • Part-time leave: eight to twelve months per child. You work half of the time you worked prior to taking parental leave.
  • Partial parental leave: 20 months per child. You work 20% less than your weekly working time prior to taking leave.
  • Split parental leave: 20 months maximum. You split your leave into four separate one-month periods.

Remember: regardless of your choice, you still have to get your employer's permission beforehand.

In some cases, it pays better

Compensation for parental leave is going up and will be indexed to the your revenue as the beneficiary. Up until now, compensation for parental leave has been fixed at EUR 1,778 per month. Starting in December, compensation will be based on your average salary for the 12 months prior to your request for parental leave. Gross compensation (subject to social contributions and tax withholdings) will range from EUR 1,922.96 per month (minimum wage for unskilled labour) to EUR 3,200 per month, a vast improvement compared to the former regime. Remember that if you worked part time prior to taking parental leave, your compensation will be prorated. Want to know what you would earn on parental leave? Calculate your new parental leave income here. Be sure to include your part time work when inputting your working hours.

Other significant changes

  • You can take parental leave until your child is six years of age (whereas the former regime allowed leave for a child up to five years of age).
  • You and your partner can take parental leave simultaneously. The reformed law will enable parents to take leave at the same time.
  • To qualify for parental leave, you must prove that you work an average of at least 10 hours per week (as opposed to 20 hours under the current regime).
  • If you have switched employers over the last 12 months, you will have to find out if any conditions apply in order to qualify for parental leave.

In other words, take your time and think about it. JIt takes time for your baby to adjust to his or her new surroundings, but new parents need time to adjust to parenthood, too. With all of these new options available, you can find a work-life balance that works for you as a new parent. To find out more, visit http://www.cae.public.lu/fr/allocations.html. Now you can choose what suits you best!

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Quels changements pour le congé parental ?

La naissance d’un enfant est un moment clé dans la vie. C’est important pour les parents de pouvoir concilier de manière optimale l’accueil de cette nouvelle petite personne et la vie professionnelle. Ceci sera bientôt plus facile au Luxembourg car le Grand-Duché augmente la flexibilité dans les options de congé parental disponible. A partir du 1er Décembre 2016, autrement dit demain, un nouveau régime congé parental s’appliquera, plus flexible et mieux rémunéré. Vous voulez en savoir plus ?  Aucun souci, on décrypte cela pour vous en vous résumant les principales nouveautés. 

Plus flexible

  • Congé parental temps plein : de 4 ou 6 mois par enfant
  • Congé parental mi-temps : de 8 ou 12 mois : activité professionnelle réduite de la moitié de la durée du travail presté avant le Congé parental
  • Congé parental fractionné avec réduction de la durée de travail à raison de 20% par semaine pendant 20 mois
  • Congé parental fractionné sur quatre périodes d’un mois pendant une période maximale de 20 mois

Attention, quel que soit votre choix, vous aurez besoin de l’accord préalable de votre employeur.

Dans certains cas, plus payé

L’indemnité du congé parental est augmentée et liée au revenu du bénéficiaire. Jusqu’à présent, cette indemnité était de 1.778 EUR. A partir de décembre, le revenu sera calculé sur base des rémunérations pendant les 12 mois précédents la demande de congé parental. Ce salaire sera de minimum 1.922,96 (montant de salaire minimum non qualifie) et maximum de 3.200 EUR, c’est une indemnité brute (donc soumise aux cotisations et imposable), ce qui n’était pas le cas dans l’ancien régime. Attention, si vous avez travaillé à temps partiel pendant la période précédente au congé parental, votre indemnité sera calculée au prorata. Une manière d’y voir plus claire, c’est de faire une simulation, vous trouverez le calculateur du « revenu nouveau congé parental » ici, mais attention à prendre en compte votre temps partiel en encodant les heures de travail.

Autres nouveautés importantes :

  • vous pourrez prendre le congé parental jusqu’aux 6 ans  de votre enfant (avant, il était possible de le prendre jusqu’aux 5 ans de l’enfant) ;
  • vous pouvez profiter du congé parental à deux. En effet, la nouvelle réforme permet aux parents de prendre leur congé parental en même temps.
  • pour pouvoir en profiter vous devez pouvoir démontrer que vous avez travaillé au moins 10 heures par semaine (contre 20 actuellement) ;
  • si vous avez changé d’employeur au cours des 12 mois avant de prendre votre congé parental vous devrez vous renseigner quant aux conditions applicables pour pouvoir en profiter

En conclusion, prenez le temps de réfléchir. Un enfant a besoin de temps pour s’intégrer dans la vie et les parents ont besoin de temps pour apprendre à devenir parents. Avec toutes ces nouvelles options, vous aurez plus de possibilités pour trouver le parfait équilibre entre vie privée et vie professionnelle, pour tous les détails vous pouvez consulter le site http://www.cae.public.lu/fr/allocations.html. A vous de choisir ce qui vous conviendra le mieux !

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser