What €100 can get you in 15 of Europe’s major capital cities (1)

Anyone who has travelled knows that prices can change a lot from one city to the next, even within the same country. With €100 you won’t have the same level of purchasing power in Madrid as you would in, say, London or Bucharest.The purchasing power of a given currency depends on a number of factors, one of which is the level of wages. But let’s keep it simple and focus on just one question:  What can €100 get you in 15 of Europe’s major capital cities?For starters, let’s take a look at four southern European countries.

Athens, Greece

Contrary to what you might think, the Greek capital is not one of the more affordable major cities. A beer can cost you €4, a ticket to the cinema nearly €7.50, and a pack of cigarettes roughly €4. Plus, the average price for visiting the capital’s various monuments hovers around €10. In other words, €100 won’t get you very far.

Rome, Italy

As a distinguished tourist destination, Rome has a lot to offer. But prices there aren’t always affordable for everyone. It’s easy to spend €100 in one day as a tourist there. Museums cost €15 on average, and there are quite a few in Rome! Plan on spending €15 on lunch and €25 on dinner…and let’s not forget taxi fares to get you around the city (about €14 for a 10-kilometre ride).

Lisbon, Portugal

Portugal generally offers reasonable prices on many fronts. Whether you want to visit or live there, Lisbon is very affordable. You can get pretty far with €100 – for instance, you could spend two nights in a four-star hotel. Good to know: cappuccino prices are some of the lowest in the world!

Madrid, Spain

If you live in the Spanish capital, €100 will get you one month of internet and mobile phone service, tickets to two of the many shows the city has to offer or a night of partying that includes dinner, drinks and the taxi ride home.

In our next article, we’ll take a look at Eastern Europe. Until then, feel free to share your favourite affordable deals to add to our list 


A great summer starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

A great winter starts here!

  • Keeping control over your money? No worries.
  • Insurance? All taken care of.
  • An emergency? Keep cool.
  • Did you think of everything? Just sit back and relax.
  •  You want even more tips?

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

Que faire avec 100 € dans 15 grandes capitales européennes ? (1)

Quiconque a voyagé, même juste un peu, sait que les prix peuvent fortement varier d’une ville à l’autre et ce, même au sein d’un même pays. Avec 100 euros, vous ne pouvez pas faire les mêmes choses à Madrid qu’à Londres ou à Bucarest.Le pouvoir d’achat d’une monnaie dans un pays donné est le résultat de nombreux facteurs, parmi lesquels figure le niveau des salaires. Mais, nous allons faire un peu plus simple et nous demander tout bonnement : que pouvons-nous faire avec 100 euros dans 15 capitales européennes? Pour commencer,  prenons la direction de 4 pays d’Europe méridionale …

Athènes, Grèce

Contrairement à ce que beaucoup peuvent penser, la capitale grecque n’est pas des plus abordables. Une bière peut coûter 4€, un cinéma près de 7,50 euros et un paquet de cigarettes environ 4 euros. De plus, le prix moyen pour visiter les différents monuments qu’abrite la capitale est d’environ 10€. Un billet de 100 euros ne vous permet donc pas de faire tant de choses que ça.

Rome, Italie

En tant que ville touristique digne de ce nom, Rome offre beaucoup de possibilités aux touristes mais à un prix qui ne convient pas à toutes les bourses. En effet, une journée de tourisme vous suffit largement pour dépenser ces 100 euros, puisqu’il faut dépenser une moyenne de 15 € pour visiter chaque musée … et à Rome, il y en a pas mal ! Comptez 15€ pour le déjeuner ou encore 25€ pour le diner sans oublier le taxi pour vous déplacer dans la ville (environ 14€ pour effectuer 10 kilomètres).

Lisbonne, Portugal

Le Portugal pratique généralement des prix accessibles à de nombreux égards. Vivre ou faire du tourisme à Lisbonne est tout à fait abordable. Et un billet de 100€ peut vous permettre de faire beaucoup de choses, même passer deux nuits dans un hôtel quatre étoiles. Bon à savoir, les prix appliqués pour un cappuccino figurent parmi les moins chers du monde !

Madrid, Espagne

Si vous habitez dans la capitale espagnole, 100€, c’est ce que vous coûteront vos frais mensuels de communication (Internet et téléphone mobile) ou encore deux spectacles parmi les nombreux que cette ville offre ou les frais d’une nuit de fête comprenant diner, boissons et retour en taxi à la maison.

En attendant le prochain article où nous irons faire un tour du côté de l’Europe de l’Est, n’hésitez pas à partager vos bons plans pour compléter notre liste 


Un été réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Un hiver réussi commence par ici !

  • Garder le contrôle sur votre argent? Pas de souci.
  • Les assurances ? On s'en occupe.
  • Une urgence? Restez zen.
  • Avez-vous pensé à tout ? Allongez-vous et détendez-vous. 
  • Besoin de plus de conseils ?

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser