What will the bank of the future look like?

Crowdfunding platforms where everyone can fund a project or seek funding, mobile applications that allow you to manage your banking activities from your smartphone or your computer, digital currencies such as bitcoins, electronic payment systems where you don’t need to enter your code bank: the world of finance has changed considerably in the past decade and it is only the beginning!

New market actors such as FinTech companies want to use technology to deeply transform the rules of the finance industry. To face this transformation, financial institutions have to reinvent themselves. What will the bank of tomorrow look like? Let’s take a peek at a very near future…

Highly personalised services

According to the specialists, the bank of the future will offer highly personalised services. Even if, in the coming years, digital technology will take more and more place in the management of our finances, human contact will continue to create added value. Provided that the bank knows well its customers and can exploit the high volume of personal data – the well-known big data. Let’s take a simple example: if an order of payment has not been made or the mobile phone invoice is higher than usual, the bank can inform the customer by email, SMS or directly on his/her mobile.

Some banks will be only digital, but not all banks. Some customers will always need a banker for more complex operations. Moreover, the banker’s job is not so easy to replace and big IT companies have realised this. It is not a coincidence that Apple Pay, the mobile payment service by Apple, lays on partnerships with banks.

New concept of bank agencies

If, in the future, bank products will be less and less standard and more and more adapted to everyone’s needs, bank agencies will change too. Long gone are the days of traditional agencies with a counter behind a window! Bank agencies tend now to be more intuitive and to have several forms, depending on the new uses of the customers. They become smaller such as the neighbourhood banks in the United States or the small banks branches in Montreal, bigger with interactive terminals to make your presence known for your advisor, tactile walls where you can find information, children’s playroom and a lounge area with a drink dispenser or bigger such as a bank supermarket with departments and an after-sales service.

Bank agencies can also focus on specific customers (only for students or seniors) or projects (only for individual projects such as birth, education, personal loan or home loan), become temporary (pop-up agencies that complement online banking) or propose organised activities such as conferences, seminars or free shows for children!

It is not certain that all the above activities will meet with success. Only time will tell. Just one thing is certain: the bank of the future will be more digital and, at the same time, more human.

Articles that might interest you

We use cookies to enhance your experience. Basic cookies are essential for the proper working of this website. For example, they save your language preferences. They also help us gather anonymous information about the use of our site. More information in our Cookie Policy

I don't agree I agree

A quoi ressemblera la banque du futur ?

Des plateformes de crowdfunding où tout un chacun peut financer ou se faire financer un projet d’entreprise, des applications mobiles qui permettent de gérer ses activités bancaires à partir de son téléphone portable ou de son ordinateur, des devises numériques comme les bitcoins, des systèmes de paiement électronique où il n’est plus nécessaire de transmettre ses coordonnées bancaires : le monde de la finance a bien changé ces dernières années et ce n’est que le début !

De nouveaux acteurs comme les FinTech font irruption sur le marché et comptent bien utiliser la technologie pour transformer profondément les usages dans les métiers de la finance. Face à cette nouvelle donne, les institutions financières vont devoir se réinventer. Comment se présentera la banque de demain ? Petite incursion dans un futur pas si lointain…

Des services ultra-personnalisés

Tous les spécialistes s’accordent à le dire : la banque de demain devra offrir des services ultra-personnalisés. Même si, dans les années à venir, le numérique prendra de plus en plus de place dans la gestion de nos finances, le contact humain continuera à générer de la valeur ajoutée. A condition que la banque connaisse bien son client et puisse exploiter judicieusement sans atteinte à la vie privée les énormes quantités de données – les fameuses Big Data – qu’elle reçoit de sa part. Prenons un exemple tout simple : si un paiement n’est pas passé ou si une facture GSM est plus élevée que d’ordinaire, la banque pourra avertir son client par SMS ou email.

Plus numériques, les banques ne le seront pas pour autant à 100%. Nous aurons toujours besoin des conseils d’un banquier pour des opérations plus complexes comme l’octroi d’un crédit hypothécaire. Le métier de banquier ne se remplace pas facilement et les grands acteurs de l’informatique l’ont bien compris. Ce n’est pas un hasard si Apple Pay, le service de paiement mobile proposé par Apple, repose sur des partenariats avec des banques.

De nouveaux concepts d’agences bancaires

Si, à l’avenir, les produits bancaires seront de moins en moins standards et de plus en plus adaptés aux besoins de chacun, les agences bancaires évolueront elles aussi. Il est bien loin le temps des agences traditionnelles avec un guichet derrière une vitre ! Demain, les agences bancaires seront plus intuitives et auront des formats plus variés en fonction des nouvelles utilisations de la clientèle. Elles deviendront soit plus petites comme les agences de quartier aux Etats-Unis ou les agences studios à Montréal, soit plus grandes avec des bornes d’accueil interactives pour se signaler directement aux conseillers, des murs tactiles pour consulter les solutions proposées, un espace de jeux pour les enfants et un coin lounge avec un distributeur de boissons ou, au contraire, une sorte de magasin bancaire organisé autour de rayons avec un service après-vente.

Les agences bancaires pourront également se spécialiser par segments de clientèle – des agences destinées aux étudiants ou aux seniors -, par projets – de agences uniquement consacrées aux projets de vie des particuliers (naissance, études, prêt à la consommation, prêt immobilier) -, devenir temporaires – des agences pop-ups en complément d’une offre mobile – ou proposer des animations comme des conférences, des séminaires ou des spectacles gratuits pour les enfants !

Il n’est pas certain que toutes les initiatives décrites ci-dessus rencontreront le succès escompté. Seul l’avenir nous le dira mais une chose est certaine : la banque du futur sera à la fois plus humaine et plus numérique.

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser