How much does your money cost?

Nope, we’re not talking about the cost of the paper or the ink used to print money. Though that might make an interesting article too. Do you know how much your money costs you? It’s a strange concept. It seems obvious that a €5 note costs and is worth €5. But if you go to the bank and “buy” €5, the price will be 5€ plus interest. A-ha! That’s how much money costs.

The price of the Euro

In our economy, banks buy and sell money from each other in the money market under the supervision of the European Central Bank. These banks charge each other an interest rate for the money borrowed, depending on the term of the loan.

A panel of 26 banks provide daily quotes of the rate at which they believe a prime bank is quoting to another prime bank for interbank term deposits. The choice of banks quoting is based on market criteria (e.g. the ones with the highest volume of business in the euro zone money market) and ensures that the diversity of the euro money market is adequately reflected.

The highest and lowest quotes are eliminated, and the remainder are averaged (truncated mean) to give the relevant Euribor (Euro Interbank Offered Rate) rate, the daily reference rate of the euro money market since 1999.

Similarly, Libor or London Interbank Offered Rate, is the reference rate for other main currencies such as the British pound sterling and the US dollar since 1986.

How this affects your money

The same way the baker passes on to the buyer the cost of flour, eggs and sugar used to make a cake, banks pass on the cost of borrowing money to their clients when they charge interest for loans. Many euro consumer loans are based on Euribor plus a commercial margin, such as certain types of mortgages, while others might have a less direct relationship with the reference rate.

And the same is true for savings! The more your bank receives from other banks for the money it lends, the more it will pay you on your deposits.

There are different Euribor rates depending on the term of the loan/deposit. You can check the current Euribor rates here.

Do you know how much you are paying for your loan?

Articles that might interest you

  • The queen of cards. There are many different types and they offer many possibilities other than cashless payment, from differed repayment to additional guarantees on purchases.

  • 3D Secure is an internationally recognised security standard for online payments. The service is limited in Luxembourg to credit cards.

  • If it’s true that when we shop in a store and handover physical cash, the pain of paying finds the act prompts more awareness about spending, and parting with cash may even “hurt” a bit more than swiping a bank card.

Quel est le coût de votre argent ?

Non, nous ne parlons pas ici du coût du papier et de l’encre utilisés pour imprimer l’argent. Cette question pourrait d’ailleurs également faire l’objet d’un article intéressant. Non, il s’agit de savoir combien vous coûte votre argent. Le concept est plutôt étrange. Il paraît évident qu’un billet de 5€ coûte et vaut 5€. Mais si vous vous rendez à la banque et « achetez » 5€, il vous en coûtera 5€ plus intérêts. Ha ! Voilà le coût de l’argent.

Le prix de l’euro

Dans notre économie, les banques s’achètent et se vendent mutuellement de l’argent sur le marché monétaire, sous l’égide de la Banque Centrale Européenne. Ces banques appliquent un taux d’intérêt à l’argent emprunté, en fonction de la durée du prêt.

Un échantillon de 26 banques fournit les taux d’intérêt quotidiens auxquels les dépôts à terme interbancaires libellés en EUR sont proposés dans la zone euro entre les banques de premier ordre. Le choix des banques constituant l’échantillon repose sur des critères de marché (par ex. les banques qui enregistrent le volume de mouvements le plus important sur le marché monétaire de la zone euro) et veille à refléter de manière adéquate la diversité du marché monétaire de l’euro.

Les taux les plus extrêmes sont écartés et une moyenne est établie sur la base des taux restants pour obtenir le taux Euribor (Euro Interbank Offered Rate) pertinent, le taux de référence journalier du marché monétaire de l’euro depuis 1999.

De même, le Libor, ou London Interbank Offered Rate, est le taux de référence pour d’autres devises majeures comme la livre britannique et le dollar américain, et ce depuis 1986.

L’impact de ce taux sur votre argent

Tout comme un boulanger répercute sur l’acheteur le prix de la farine, des œufs et du sucre utilisés pour fabriquer un gâteau, la banque répercute sur ses clients le coût d’emprunt en assortissant ses prêts d’intérêts. Nombre de prêts à la consommation libellés en euros se basent sur l’Euribor, auquel une marge commerciale est ajoutée, comme c’est le cas pour certains types de prêts hypothécaires, alors que d’autres présentent un lien moins direct avec le taux de référence.

Il en va de même pour l’épargne ! Plus la banque percevra un intérêt élevé sur l’argent qu’elle prête à d’autres banques, plus la rémunération de vos dépôts sera élevée.

Il existe plusieurs taux Euribor en fonction du délai de l’emprunt/du dépôt. Vous pouvez consulter ici les taux Euribor actuels.

Articles susceptibles de vous intéresser